Pearl Jam's Former Drummer Dave Abbruzzese Responds to Rock Hall Snub

The inductees will be announced in December, while the induction ceremony will take place next April.

There is one change to note in this year's process: The Hall of Fame will name individual members when it inducts groups, and not everyone who's been a part of the act will receive the honor. Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur both released their debuts in that year, and all of the other bands are older than that.

Eddie Vedder, Stone Gossard, Matt Cameron, Dave Krusen, Jeff Ament and Mike McCready were the Pearl Jam rockers to be included in the band's nomination for the Hall. As with past years, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has also offered a "fan ballot" in which regular music fans can vote for five artists on a single ballot.

It's also the first time for Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane's Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey and Steppenwolf to make an appearance.

FCA Canada posts further sales decline in October
US auto sales remain near their all-time highs, but after six years of growth following the Great Recession, they're tapering off. Deliveries fell 10 percent at Fiat Chrysler and 2.2 percent at Nissan, both a bit more than forecasters predicted.

The Rock and Roll HOF is based in Cleveland, Ohio and has been inducting influential music acts since 1986. The Smiths and Nine Inch Nails were previously nominated but are not in the running this year. N.W.A. got in alongside Chicago, Cheap Trick, Deep Purple, and Steve Withers. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2017 nominees have been announced and iconic artists including Janet Jackson, the late Tupac Shakur, Pearl Jam and Journey topped the list.

To be eligible for the nomination, each band or artist needed to have release an album in 1991 or earlier.

However, it is unlikely the fan votes will tilt the election in any nominees' favor, since - as in previous years - their votes will account for only 1 percent of the total tally. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise, a "fans" ballot' that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2017 Inductees. You can vote once a day at, starting today and ending at 11:59 p.m. ET on December 5.

  • Michelle Webb