Jurgen Klopp nominated for FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year award

The England national tea enjoyed popularity not seen for a generation under Southgate's guidance, who impressed with his calm authority and poise.

Southgate guided England to their first World Cup semifinal in 28 years in Russian Federation this year with a young squad before eventually finishing fourth behind Belgium, whose coach Roberto Martinez also makes the 10-strong shortlist.

He is rivalled by his countryman Didier Deschamps, who guided France to their second-ever FIFA World Cup title, becoming only the fourth person to lift the Jules Rimet trophy both as a player and a coach.

Pep Guardiola is nominated for leading Manchester City to a runaway English Premier League title win.

A fine season with Liverpool ended with heartbreak after the team lost the Champions League final to Real Madrid.

England full back Lucy Bronze, who won the European crown in her first season with Lyon, was nominated for the women's player of the year.

Buried coastal Internet infrastructure at risk from rising seas
A complex network of fiber optic cables, the physical internet, carries data to and from your computer in the blink of an eye. He said perhaps one of the most shocking findings of his research was how soon this all could happen. 'That surprised us.

The other players in the 10-man list are Cristiano Ronaldo, Leo Messi, Kevin De Bruyne, Antoine Griezmann, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Luka Modric and Raphael Varane.

England manager Gareth Southgate is among the nominees for FIFA's The Best Men's Coach award alongside Pep Guardiola, Didier Deschamps and Zinedine Zidane.

Later Tuesday, FIFA publishes candidate lists for the men's and women's best player awards.

Last season Barça won a LaLiga and the Copa del Rey double.

Football fans can vote for their preferred nominee on FIFA's website, with the result of the ballot taken into consideration alongside the votes of national team coaches and captains and selected journalists, FIFA said.

The top three will appear at a show in London on the 24th September where the victor will receive his award.

  • Lawrence Cooper