Ronaldo, Modric and Salah, nominated for UEFA Player of the Year

Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah are the final nominees to be the Uefa men's Player of the Year. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

"Players are judged on their performances in all competitions - domestic, continental and worldwide", UEFA said in a statement.

The victor of the award will be announced on August 30th during the draw for the Champions League group stages in Monaco.

His former team-mate in Madrid, Modric, was a World Cup runner-up with Croatia and the victor of the FIFA Golden Ball. Mbappe was named best young player in Russian Federation.

Croatia star, Modric played in the 2018 World Cup having defeated by France.

Blacks need not apply for jobs in the Trump administration, Omarosa claims
In one of the most damning claims , she says a tape exists of the president from The Apprentice days saying a racial slur. Manigault Newman has maintained she made the secret recordings to protect herself inside a West Wing ripe with betrayal.

Messi had been present at all nominations since 2011, when the new format for the award was introduced. Messi and Barca also won the Copa De Rey, so Messi would be well within his rights to be a bit miffed for his shortlist omission. Messi was fifth in this year's voting, UEFA said Monday. Ronaldo's assist record was far worst though, with just fife in La Liga and three in the Champions League, although the Portuguese forward would often lead the attack for Madrid. Ronaldo had 15 goals in 13 UCL matches en route to a Real Madrid Champions Cup victory over Liverpool.

Varane is on an all-Madrid defenders list with Marcelo and Sergio Ramos, and the goalkeeper candidates are Alisson, Gianluigi Buffon and Keylor Navas.

UEFA have announced the three finalists for the 2017/18 UEFA Men's Player of the Year award. The award will be presented on August 31 at the draw for the group stage of the Europa League.

The women's award will go to either Pernille Harder (Denmark and Wolfsburg), Ada Hegerberg (Norway and Lyon) or Amandine Henry (France and Lyon).

  • Lawrence Cooper