Heisman Trophy history: three quarterbacks of color

Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa won the Maxwell Award on Thursday night.

During the show, ESPN interviewed both Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa to preview the Heisman Trophy ceremony.

On Friday, Murray will head to New York City for Heisman Trophy weekend.

Conveniently left out of the picture was Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins - the third finalist for the award.

Earlier in the day, the Walter Camp Award for best player went to Tagovailoa, while Murray won the Associated Press' Player of the Year. The other finalists for the Walter Camp were Murray, Minshew, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen.

President George H.W. Bush Has Passed Away
The Berlin Wall fell; the Soviet Union ceased to exist; the communist bloc in Eastern Europe broke up; the Cold War ended. George Snr - nicknamed "41" to distinguish himself from his son, "43" - was the 41st President of the United States .

Murray was drafted by the A's in the first round of the 2018 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft and said he would give up football after playing this season with the Sooners. He's also rushed for 892 yards and 11 scores.

Murray's 51 combined touchdowns are the most of anyone in college football. The last Walter Camp victor to miss out on the Heisman was Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o. The Davey O'Brien Award honors the nation's top quarterback each year.

Behind Murray, the University of Oklahoma has the top rated offense in the country, averaging over 8 yard per play.

Kyler Murray has put together one of the greatest individual seasons in college football history. And only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

Murray, a fourth-year junior, replaced last season's Heisman victor and had an even better season than his predecessor. He received a $4.6 million signing bonus from the A's with the expectation that this would be his last season on the gridiron.

  • Lawrence Cooper